Certification: Mechanic-Inspection Authorization (IA)

800 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20591

This publication provides guidance for persons who conduct
annual and progressive inspections and approve major repairs
and/or major alterations of aircraft holding or eligible to hold a
U.S. type certificate. The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
intends this information for mechanics who hold an Inspection
Authorization (IA). This manual stresses the important role that
certificated mechanics who hold an inspection authorization have
in air safety.

More than two years of education or training after high school required?
More than two years of work experience required?
Oral or Written Exam Required?
Renewal Required?
Every 2 Year(s)
Renew through Continuing Educational Units(CEU)?
Renew through Re-Examination?
Renew through Continuing Professional Development(CPD)?
Does applicant have choice of at least two options from above for renewal (CEU, CPD, or exam)?

Third Party Exam Center


The certification corresponds to a specialty within a recognized occupation. For example, Oncology Nurse and Pediatric Nurse are specialties within the nursing field, so Certified Oncology Nurse and Certified Pediatric Nurse would be classified as specialty certifications.

  • This certification is related to military occupational specialties.