Certification: Council-certified Emergency Operations Manager (CEOM)

The American Council for Accredited Certification (ACAC), Council-certified Emergency Operations Manager (CEOM) certification are for individuals with expertise in the various disciplines related to emergency operations management. CEOMs demonstrate knowledge and experience with incident command, FEMA reporting, medical triage, building triage, risk/hazard assessment, disaster recovery and other activities related to emergency management. Candidates must meet academic and experience requirements to be eligible for the CEOM certification. Candidates must pass a written exam.

More than two years of education or training after high school required?
More than two years of work experience required?
Oral or Written Exam Required?
Renewal Required?
Every 2 Year(s)
Renew through Continuing Educational Units(CEU)?
Renew through Continuing Professional Development(CPD)?

On Site; Online Exam; Third Party Exam Center

ACAC offers three forms of certification exam delivery, find more information here external site


The certification has an education level of an Associates of Arts or Associates of Sciences degree or higher and has a work experience requirement of more than 2 years, or requires obtaining a ‘core’ level certification from the same organization.

  • This certification is related to military occupational specialties.