Certification: Cardiac Medicine (Adult) (CMC)

101 Columbia, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656-1491

CMC® subspecialty certification was introduced in 2005 for specialty certified nurses providing care to acutely and critically ill adult cardiac patients. Nurses interested in this certification may work in such areas as: cardiac care units; combined ICU-CCUs; medical ICUs; telemetry units; progressive care units; heart failure clinics; home care; interventional cardiology; cardiac catheterization labs; or electrophysiology units.

More than two years of education or training after high school required?
More than two years of work experience required?
Oral or Written Exam Required?
Renewal Required?
Every 3 Year(s)
Renew through Continuing Educational Units(CEU)?
Renew through Re-Examination?
Does applicant have choice of at least two options from above for renewal (CEU, CPD, or exam)?


The certification corresponds to a specialty within a recognized occupation. For example, Oncology Nurse and Pediatric Nurse are specialties within the nursing field, so Certified Oncology Nurse and Certified Pediatric Nurse would be classified as specialty certifications.

  • This certification is considered in demand.
  • This certification is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA).