Certification: Clinically Certified Forensic Counselor (CFC)

The National Association of Forensic Counselors (NAFC) is the first certification board to develop standards, requirements and examination for the very first Forensic Counselor and Criminal Justice Specialist certifications offered, establishing the Forensic Counselor profession and the Criminal Justice Specialist designations.

Due to the efforts and establishments made solely by NAFC, educational institutions now offer degrees in Forensic Counseling, and many national and state level boards have followed in the footsteps of NAFC by developing subsequent versions of the Forensic Counselor and Criminal Justice certification programs originally created by the NAFC.

All NAFC requirements must be met in order to become certified through NAFC. While NAFC does not require that a Candidate take any online or onsite course or training as part of its application process, the NAFC does offer certification training courses. Please contact 260-426-7234 for more information.

More than two years of education or training after high school required?
More than two years of work experience required?
Oral or Written Exam Required?
Renewal Required?
Every 1 Year(s)
Renew through Continuing Educational Units(CEU)?
Renew through Re-Examination?
Renew through Continuing Professional Development(CPD)?
Does applicant have choice of at least two options from above for renewal (CEU, CPD, or exam)?


The certification has an education level of an Associates of Arts or Associates of Sciences degree or higher and has a work experience requirement of more than 2 years, or requires obtaining a ‘core’ level certification from the same organization.

  • This certification is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA).
  • This certification is related to military occupational specialties.