Certification: Registered Diagnostic Cardiac Sonographer (RDCS)

51 Monroe Street, Plaza East One, Rockville, Maryland 20850-2400

The RDMS credential raises the standard of diagnostic medical ultrasound practice worldwide and promotes best practices for enhanced patient safety. The RDMS credential is designed to certify competence in the field of diagnostic medical sonography. By earning the RDMS credential, healthcare professionals gain a critical edge in promoting public safety in ultrasound.

Please consult the information below to learn how to become RDMS certified, the application and examination process, and how certification pertains to your career in medical diagnostic sonography.

RDMS Credential Prerequisites
To obtain the RDMS credential, you must meet the examination prerequisites and pass the physics and a corresponding specialty examination within five years:

Physics Examination:
• Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI)

Specialty examinations:
• Abdomen (AB)*
• Breast (BR)*
• Fetal Echocardiography (FE)**
• Obstetrics & Gynecology (OB/GYN)*
• Pediatric Sonography (PS)**

More than two years of education or training after high school required?
Oral or Written Exam Required?
Renewal Required?
Every 10 Year(s)
Renew through Continuing Educational Units(CEU)?
Renew through Re-Examination?
Does applicant have choice of at least two options from above for renewal (CEU, CPD, or exam)?


The certification corresponds to a specialty within a recognized occupation. For example, Oncology Nurse and Pediatric Nurse are specialties within the nursing field, so Certified Oncology Nurse and Certified Pediatric Nurse would be classified as specialty certifications.

  • This certification is considered in demand.
  • This certification is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).
  • This certification is related to military occupational specialties.