Certification: National Board Certification - Early Adolescence through Young Adulthood - English as a New Language

26555 Evergreen Road, Suite 400, Southfield, MI 48076

The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards has organized the standards for accomplished English as a New Language teachers into 12 standards. The standards have been ordered as they have to facilitate understanding, not to assign priorities. They each describe an important facet of accomplished teaching; they often occur concurrently because of the seamless quality of accomplished practice.<br>These standards serve as the basis for National Board Certification in this field.

More than two years of education or training after high school required?
More than two years of work experience required?
Oral or Written Exam Required?
Renewal Required?
Every 10 Year(s)
Does applicant have choice of at least two options from above for renewal (CEU, CPD, or exam)?


The certification corresponds to a specialty within a recognized occupation. For example, Oncology Nurse and Pediatric Nurse are specialties within the nursing field, so Certified Oncology Nurse and Certified Pediatric Nurse would be classified as specialty certifications.