Certification: Advanced Medical Life Support (AMLS)

Advanced Medical Life Support (AMLS) is the gold standard of
education for emergency medical assessment and treatment.
Endorsed by the National Association of EMS Physicians,
AMLS emphasizes the use of the AMLS Assessment Pathway, a
systematic tool for assessing and managing common medical
conditions with urgent accuracy.
In the 3rd edition of AMLS, students learn to recognize and
manage common medical crises through realistic case-based
scenarios that challenge students to apply their knowledge
to highly critical patients. The course emphasizes the use
of scene size-up, first impression, history, interactive group
discussion on differential diagnosis and potential treatment
strategies, and physical exam to systematically rule out and
consider possibilities and probabilities in treating patients'
medical crises. The 3rd edition AMLS library of patient
simulations offers students an opportunity to apply critical
thinking skills to a variety of patient presentations. Additional
features include patient simulation monitor images and ECGs
provided by iSimulate, to enhance students' experience.
The course utilizes the AMLS textbook and course manual.

More than two years of education or training after high school required?
More than two years of work experience required?
Oral or Written Exam Required?
Renewal Required?
Every 4 Year(s)
Renew through Re-Examination?


The certification has an education level of an Associates of Arts or Associates of Sciences degree or higher and has a work experience requirement of more than 2 years, or requires obtaining a ‘core’ level certification from the same organization.