Certification: ARINC Fiber Optics Technician (AFT)

5 Depot Street, Greencastle, IN 46135

ARINC organizes aviation industry committees and participates in related industry activities that benefit aviation at large by providing technical leadership and guidance. These activities directly support aviation industry goals: promote safety, efficiency, regularity, and cost-effectiveness in aircraft operations. ARINC recognizes ETA International as the fiber optic industry training certification entity in regards to the aerospace industry in the United States. The ARINC certification is based on the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) standards.

ARINC Industry Activities organizes and provides the secretariat for international aviation organizations (AEEC, AMC, FSEMC) which coordinate the work of aviation industry technical professionals and lead the development of technical standards for airborne electronic equipment, aircraft maintenance equipment and practices, and flight simulator equipment used in commercial, military, and business aviation. The AEEC, AMC, and FSEMC develop consensus-based, voluntary standards that are published by ARINC and are known as ARINC Standards. The use of ARINC Standards results in substantial technical and economic benefit to the aviation industry.

More than two years of education or training after high school required?
More than two years of work experience required?
Oral or Written Exam Required?
Renewal Required?
Every 4 Year(s)
Renew through Continuing Educational Units(CEU)?
Renew through Re-Examination?
Renew through Continuing Professional Development(CPD)?
Does applicant have choice of at least two options from above for renewal (CEU, CPD, or exam)?

Online Exam; Third Party Exam Center

Certification exams available online or through a local exam center, more information available here: https://etai.org/test_sites.html external site


The certification has an education level of an Associates of Arts or Associates of Sciences degree or higher and has a work experience requirement of more than 2 years, or requires obtaining a ‘core’ level certification from the same organization.

  • This certification is related to military occupational specialties.