Certification: Private Pilot, Helicopter Rating

800 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20591

The Private Pilot-Rotorcraft (Helicopter and Gyroplane) Practical Test
Standards (PTS) book has been published by the Federal Aviation
Administration (FAA) to establish the standards for private pilot
certification practical tests for the rotorcraft category, helicopter and
gyroplane classes. FAA inspectors and designated pilot examiners shall
conduct practical tests in compliance with these standards. Flight
instructors and applicants should find these standards helpful during
training and when preparing for the practical test.

More than two years of education or training after high school required?
More than two years of work experience required?
Oral or Written Exam Required?
Renewal Required?
Every 2 Year(s)
Renew through Continuing Educational Units(CEU)?
Renew through Re-Examination?
Renew through Continuing Professional Development(CPD)?
Does applicant have choice of at least two options from above for renewal (CEU, CPD, or exam)?

Third Party Exam Center


The certification corresponds to a specialty within a recognized occupation. For example, Oncology Nurse and Pediatric Nurse are specialties within the nursing field, so Certified Oncology Nurse and Certified Pediatric Nurse would be classified as specialty certifications.

  • This certification is related to military occupational specialties.